Reigning champions Györi seek wild card for CL 2024/25

This season, the Champions League winners were Györi. However, their participation next season is still uncertain. EHF announced earlier today the ten teams that have asked for a place.

With nine team already secured their Champion League spot for next season, it’s time for EHF to decide who gets the reminding seven spots. 

With nine teams already securing their Champions League spots for next season, it’s time for EHF to decide who gets the remaining seven spots.

One of those teams is the reigning champions Györi, who failed to win their domestic league and thus secure their spot in one of the two groups. Instead, FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria, or as they are often called, Ferencvárosi, got the spot.

Registered teams EHF Champions League Women 2024/25

Teams from countries with a fixed place in the EHF Champions League:

  • DEN – Team Esbjerg
  • DEN – Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub
  • FRA – Metz Handball
  • GER – HB Ludwigsburg (formerly SG BBM Bietigheim)
  • HUN – FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria
  • MNE – Buducnost Bemax
  • NOR – Vipers Kristiansand
  • ROU – CSM Bucuresti
  • SLO – Krim Mercator Ljubljana

Teams requesting an upgrade:

  • CRO – HC Podravka Vegeta
  • DEN – Odense Håndbold
  • FRA – Brest Bretagne Handball
  • GER – BV Borussia Dortmund
  • HUN – Györi Audi ETO KC
  • HUN – DVSC Schaeffler
  • NOR – Storhamar Handball Elite
  • NOR – Sola HK
  • ROU – CS Rapid Bucuresti
  • ROU – CS Gloria 2018 BN