Champions League groups drawn – giants clash in the group stage

The last seven Champions League titles have been won by either Györi or Vipers Kristiansand. This year, the two giants meet already in the group stage in an otherwise packed Group B.

After three consecutive Final Four appearances without the title, Györi reclaimed the crown from Vipers Kristiansand after defeating Bietigheim, now HB Ludwigsburg, in the final. Next season, the teams will face each other again in the group stage. The bronze medalists from the 2023/24 season, Team Esbjerg, are also in Group B.

Group A is considered the easier group on paper, but it still boasts strong squads. Teams like Metz, FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria (Ferencváros), and the 2016 champions CSM Bucuresti will compete in the group stage.

Here are the groups in full:

Group A:

  • FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria (Hungary)
  • Metz Handboll (France)
  • CSM Bucuresti (Romania)
  • Krim Mercator Ljubljana (Slovenia)
  • Storhamar Handboll Elite (Norway)
  • Nykøbing Falster Handbollsklubb (Denmark)
  • HC Podravka Vegeta (Croatia)
  • CS Gloria 2018 BN (Romania)

Group B:

  • Vipers Kristiansand (Norway)
  • Team Esbjerg (Denmark)
  • Buducnost BEMAX (Montenegro)
  • HB Ludwigsburg (Germany)
  • Györi Audi ETO KC (Hungary)
  • Brest Bretagne Handboll (France)
  • Rapid Bucuresti (Romania)
  • Odense Handboll (Denmark)