Danish dominance in Team of the Season

The Danish dominance continues to be evident during award times. Four out of eight players selected for the EHF Team of the Season were from the reigning Olympic champions.

Wine improves with time, as they say, and this has rarely been more fitting than now. The eternally youthful Hans Lindberg was named right back of the season on Thursday when EHF announced their “Excellence Awards”. The 42-year-old, along with goalkeeper Emil Nielsen, left back Emil Jakobsen and defensive giant Magnus Saugstrup, represented the Danish contingent in the team.

In addition to the Danes, the European champions also made their mark. French national team stars Dika Mem, Ludovic Fabregas, and Elohim Prandi were all voted in. Last but not least, Felix Claar was named Europe’s best center back.

The entire team:
Goalkeeper: Emil Nielsen, Barcelona, Denmark
Left wing: Emil Jakobsen, Flensburg-Handewitt, Denmark
Left back: Elohim Prandi, PSG, France
Center back: Felix Claar, SC Magdeburg, Sweden
Right back: Dika Mem, Barcelona, France
Right wing: Hans Lindberg, Füchse Berlin, Denmark
Pivot: Ludovic Fabregas, Barcelona, France
Defender: Magnus Saugstrup, SC Magdeburg, Denmark