Ferencvaros once again cup winner

Györi ETO KC and Ferencvaros met up once again to decide a Hungarian champion among themselves. Györ ruled the cup final at half-time, then Ferencvaros overturned the situation and brought their third consecutive title home.

In the duel between the Danish coaches (Allan Heine och Ulrik Kirkely) Györ led almost all the way. Andrea Lelia forced the way back into the game as Ferencvaros cut down a three-goal deficit and eventually equalized, 20-20.

A few attacks later, Ferencvaros had the upper hand for the first time with 23-22. Emily Bölk became the deciding factor goal-wise, but the defensive capacity of FTC was just as important and Blanka Böde-Biro added capable saves throughout.

Györ dived deep in the final minutes and lacked the creative qualities when Ferencvaros stood powerful. 

– We talked about it a lot, it will be important that when we get to the last ten minutes, we are still in competition, because Győr is an incredibly strong team with world-class players, said FTC coach Heine to the club webpage.

– We had a script for this match and I’m incredibly proud of the girls for making it happen, he continued.

Veronica Kristiansen became top scorer for Györ with six goals, Lelia fared even better with seven goals for Ferencvaros. DVSC Schaeffler won the third place game, beating Mosonmagyaróvár by 34 to 29.

All in all, Györ and FTC are now equal with 15 gold medals each in ´Magyar Kupa´.

Györi Audi ETO KC–Ferencvaros 23–25 (13-11)