Denmark´s squad against Japan

National coach Jesper Jensen has announced the names of the 20 players who constitute the squad for the international matches against Japan on April 6th and 7th in Odense and Silkeborg respectively. The matches against Japan will provide a welcome opportunity to seek revenge for the defeat suffered in the last World Championship, but more importantly, to kickstart preparations for the Olympics.

National coach Jesper Jensen has selected a squad consisting of 16 of the 17 players who were recently part of the European Championship qualifiers against Poland, plus four new faces in the form of Maria Lykkegaard, Michala Møller, Alberte Kielstrup Madsen, and Lærke Nolsøe. The latter replaces Elma Halilcevic, who has been injured.

The national team gathering and matches against Japan also mark the Danish Women’s Handball Team’s first proper preparation for the upcoming Olympics in Paris. Only 14 players will be selected for the Olympics, which gives Jesper Jensen much to consider regarding the composition of the squad.

The Danish Team:

Sandra Toft, Győri ETO KC
Althea Reinhardt, Odense Håndbold
Anna Kristensen, Team Esbjerg

Line Players:
Rikke Iversen, Team Esbjerg
Sarah Iversen, Ikast Håndbold
Kaja Kamp Nielsen, Team Esbjerg
Maria Lykkegaard, Ikast Håndbold

Wing Players:
Trine Østergaard, CSM Bucuresti
Emma Friis, Ikast Håndbold
Lærke Nolsøe, Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub
Andrea Aagot Hansen, Odense Håndbold

Back Players:
Anne Mette Hansen, Mezt Handball
Kristina Jørgensen, Metz Handball
Mie Højlund, Odense Håndbold
Simone Petersen, Ikast Håndbold
Louise Vinter Burgaard, Metz Handball
Line Haugsted, Győri ETO KC
Helena Elver, Odense Håndbold
Michala Møller, Team Esbjerg
Alberte Kielstrup Madsen, Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub

Source: Dansk Håndbold