Denmark: Simon Pytlick named Male National Team Player of the Year.

Before yesterday’s match against Norway, Simon Pytlick was celebrated. The 23-year-old was named the Male National Team Player of the Year.

With more than 12,000 spectators in a sold-out Royal Arena, Simon Pytlick was applauded with massive cheers when he was awarded the prize for Male National Team Player of the Year 2022/2023 before the opening of the Golden League.

It is the colleagues who have voted for Pytlick, as the winner is chosen through a vote among players in the Danish Men’s League, the 1st Division, and the Danish foreign professionals.

– It is well-deserved considering the World Championship he played. Simon has undergone really good development, and now that he has moved to the Bundesliga, it will only sharpen him even more, even though he is already one of the world’s best players, says national team coach Nikolaj Jacobsen to the Danish Handball Federation’s website

Previous winners of “Male National Team Player of the Year”:

2021/2022: Mathias Gidsel
2020/2021: Niklas Landin
2019/2020: Niklas Landin
2018/2019: Mikkel Hansen
2017/2018: Rasmus Lauge
2016/2017: Mikkel Hansen
2015/2016: Mikkel Hansen
2014/2015: Mikkel Hansen
2013/2014: Niklas Landin
2012/2013: Anders Eggert
2011/2012: Mikkel Hansen
2010/2011: Mikkel Hansen
2009/2010: Anders Eggert
2008/2009: Mikkel Hansen
2007/2008: Kasper Hvidt
2006/2007: Lars Christiansen
2005/2006: Bo Spellerberg
2004/2005: Lars Jørgensen
2003/2004: Michael V. Knudsen
2002/2003: Lars Christiansen

Source: The Danish Handball Federation